It’s Monday! What Are YOU Reading? #3

It’s Monday! What are YOU Reading is a weekly feature hosted by Book Date where we share what books we read in the past week and what we are going to be reading in the coming week. It is a great plan for organising your coming reading week!

A good week in having books to return to my library, but not so much a good week with actually FINISHING books properly! 😮 There are two books I DNFed in the past weeks because of boredom and because of this ridiculous slump that still hasn’t fully left me yet 😛 I’m really trying to get more books finished and other readers have said the best thing to do is carry on ploughing ahead until these lethargic feelings go away. Urghhh!

Stay Positive Good Vibes GIF by Positively Present


What I have read DNFed 

Aftertime (Aftertime, #1)London Eye (Toxic City, #1)

Two books DNFed in a row… wow this is a record for me, has anyone ever DNFed lots of books one after the other?  Both these books had so much potential to be absolutely stunning as they are both in genres I like, but instead they both turned out to be boring, insipid and just not interesting or plausible in themselves or their characters. London Eye just was an absolutely ridiculous joke, I mean there was hardly any depth to the characters or build up towards the fact that all of London had been barricaded off, the general public just seemed to accept that and then our characters blindly followed a stranger into the exclusion zone having only just met her the night before?? 😒

Aftertime… oh the wasted potential here! This could have been a violent, bloody and suspenseful zombie thriller that had a strong characters as well as an interesting narrative. It had none of those, instead once again it was boring and insipid with nothing that made me care or root for the characters or their world which lacked plausibility also. Slump, be gone, I am on to hopefully better books now 😛


What I am reading at the moment

The Rule of Claw (The Rule of Claw, #1)

I went into this expecting a kind of philosophical read about evolution and so far I am 140 pages from the finish with no revelations about the world or the Raptors. This doesn’t seem a bad book though, there is a lot of suspense and the characters are interesting to read about and I will read on to find out more about this world and characters.


Possible reading suggestions for the coming week

No Life But This (UniCorp, #2)

I remember bits and pieces of the first book by this author which I hope will be enough for this book as I’m trying to choose the shortest books on my library TBR to get finished sooner. I recall being a little bored whilst reading the first book but the mystery and revelations towards the end made the book worth the read in the end. It has been a while and I’m hoping this instalment will hold my interest more and hopefully I’m finished with DNFing for a while to come now 😛

positive GIF

One thought on “It’s Monday! What Are YOU Reading? #3

  1. I do sometimes pick up and put down a number of books before I settle into one especially when I’m choosing from my TBR mountain. Some have been there so long that I can’t remember why I bought them in the first place. Come see my week here. Happy reading!

    Like

Leave a comment