Goodreads Monday | Black Wolves

Goodreads Monday is hosted by Lauren’s Page Turners. It is when we show off a book from our TBR that we’re looking forward to reading.

Black Wolves by Kate Elliott

Black Wolves (Black Wolves, #1)

 

For readers of Brent Weeks and fans of Netflix’s Marco Polo comes a rich and inspired fantasy tale of warriors and nobles who must take the most desperate gamble of all: awaken allies more destructive than the hated king they hope to overthrow. Kate Elliott’s new trilogy is an unmissable treat for epic fantasy lovers everywhere.

An exiled captain returns to help the son of the king who died under his protection in this rich and multi-layered first book in an action-packed new series.

Twenty two years have passed since Kellas, once Captain of the legendary Black Wolves, lost his King and with him his honor. With the King murdered and the Black Wolves disbanded, Kellas lives as an exile far from the palace he once guarded with his life.

Until Marshal Dannarah, sister to the dead King, comes to him with a plea-rejoin the palace guard and save her nephew, King Jehosh, before he meets his father’s fate.

Combining the best of Shogun and Netflix’s Marco PoloBlack Wolves is an unmissable treat for epic fantasy lovers everywhere.

collection-of-decorative-page-dividers_1048-3026

Kate Elliott became a favourite author of mine after I read and contemplated Cold Magic, her first book in her Spiritwalker trilogy. That was honestly a masterpiece that needs more recognition and I really want to read on in that series too but as with a lot of books of that type need to find the right time. This new fantasy series is one that is supposed to be set in the same world as the previous Crossroads series, a series that I haven’t yet read and most certainly want to! As like the Crossroads series, this one is an Asian inspired fantasy world with what other readers have said a lot of political background story as well as a driving action fantasy plot. I have decided to order this book for my upcoming Thailand trip because I get the feeling I’ll be doing a lot of reading when I’m there and also because Kate Elliott has such a deep and almost philosophical way of telling her fantasy stories that immerses the readers in the culture of the world as well as the politics and magic, which I think will be great for travelling. I will also add that I have looked on the authors Q&A section on GR and have seen that many people are asking for the sequel of this book but it seems the publisher has cancelled this series 😦 That has to be one of my biggest peeves with books, when a series gets cancelled uuurrgghh! I still want to read this book though as my library has it and all the best in hopes that the publisher picks this series up again cause I’m 99% sure this book will be great for travels 😉

Week GIF

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s