Can’t Wait Wednesday | A River of Royal Blood

Can’t Wait Wednesday/Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Wishful Endings and before it was hosted at Breaking the Spine. It was made to showcase future releases we’re excited for.

A River of Royal Blood by Amanda Joy

A River of Royal Blood (A River of Royal Blood, #1)

 

Expected publication: October 29th 2019

An enthralling debut perfect for fans of Children of Blood and Bone set in a North African-inspired fantasy world where two sisters must fight to the death to win the crown.

Sixteen-year-old Eva is a princess, born with the magick of marrow and blood–a dark and terrible magick that hasn’t been seen for generations in the vibrant but fractured country of Myre. Its last known practitioner was Queen Raina, who toppled the native khimaer royalty and massacred thousands, including her own sister, eight generations ago, thus beginning the Rival Heir tradition. Living in Raina’s long and dark shadow, Eva must now face her older sister, Isa, in a battle to the death if she hopes to ascend to the Ivory Throne–because in the Queendom of Myre only the strongest, most ruthless rulers survive.

When Eva is attacked by an assassin just weeks before the battle with her sister, she discovers there is more to the attempt on her life than meets the eye–and it isn’t just her sister who wants to see her dead. As tensions escalate, Eva is forced to turn to a fey instructor of mythic proportions and a mysterious and handsome khimaer prince for help in growing her magick into something to fear. Because despite the love she still has for her sister, Eva will have to choose: Isa’s death or her own.

A River of Royal Blood is an enthralling debut set in a lush North African inspired fantasy world that subtly but powerfully challenges our notions of power, history, and identity.

Add to Goodreads

collection-of-decorative-page-dividers_1048-3026

Without reading the full description I was sold on this book with the North African inspired fantasy world words and I know this will be high on my TBR if I ever travel to Africa again 😀 The hints of folklore and the struggles of the characters are really calling to me even now because for some reason I’ve never really been one who could research topics of interest such as mythology as I’ve never really been able to focus on factual writings, but when real knowledge and topics are immersed in a good story then this is a fun way of reading something up as well as experiencing something totally new. I do feel however, that in the coming future there will be a time where I can research matters of interest as I have ideas for my own stories in my head and really need to put them down on paper or somewhat… I am pretty sure I’ll love this book even though there are mixed reviews and one thing a reviewer pointed out that I noticed almost immediately was that this is supposed to have an African setting yet the characters don’t have African names? 😕 That is odd and I an understand why they were saying it appears lazy on the authors part, though I will still give this book a chance one day no matter what 😉 🙂

Pumpkin Dance Dancing GIF by Halloween

One thought on “Can’t Wait Wednesday | A River of Royal Blood

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s