Diversity Spotlight Thursday (29/8/19)

Diversity Spotlight Thursday is meme hosted weekly at Bookshelves and Paperbacks and aims to highlight diverse reads of any kind.

Diversity Spotlight will take place every Thursday, and it will be featuring three books in any given week:

  1. A diverse book you have read and enjoyed
  2. A diverse book that has already been released but you have not read
  3. A diverse book that has not yet been released

This week’s theme is books set in African settings!

What I have read

Lost Gods (Lost Gods, #1)

 

In an epic fantasy kingdom inspired by African legends, a young assassin finds himself hunted by the brothers and sisters he has trained alongside since birth.

A teenaged assassin is hunted by his own Brotherhood as he seeks to uncover a supernatural conspiracy before it’s too late

Neythan is one of five adolescents trained and raised together by a mysterious brotherhood of assassins known as the Shedaím. When Neythan is framed for the murder of his closest friend, he pursues his betrayer, and in so doing learns there’s far more to the Brotherhood, and even the world itself, than he’d ever thought possible.

Add this book on Goodreads


According to other reviews this is said to be based off of middle eastern legends also, but thinking about this book I’d say it was a great series opener. The story and characters were really well described even if a lot of things were not revealed in this book. To me this series shows a lot of promise and I’m strongly hoping this is not going to end up as an uncompleted series where the publisher doesn’t pick up further books… That seems to happen quite a bit 😛

collection-of-decorative-page-dividers_1048-3026

On my TBR

Acacia: The War with the Mein (Acacia, #1)

Leodan Akaran, ruler of the Known World, has inherited generations of apparent peace and prosperity, won ages ago by his ancestors. A widower of high intelligence, he presides over an empire called Acacia, after the idyllic island from which he rules. He dotes on his four children and hides from them the dark realities of traffic in drugs and human lives on which their prosperity depends. He hopes that he might change this, but powerful forces stand in his way. And then a deadly assassin sent from a race called the Mein, exiled long ago to an ice-locked stronghold in the frozen north, strikes at Leodan in the heart of Acacia while they unleash surprise attacks across the empire. On his deathbed, Leodan puts into play a plan to allow his children to escape, each to their separate destiny. And so his children begin a quest to avenge their father’s death and restore the Acacian empire — this time on the basis of universal freedom.

Add this book on Goodreads


I think this is an African inspired fantasy…. I think… I did find this book on a search I did online once for African inspired fantasies and this came in two lists with many people describing it as similar to Game of Thrones. Either way this book looks like it would be perfect for me as I enjoy the A Song of Ice and Fire series a lot and if done right like they are, then books with minimal magic and more political intrigue can be awesome in their own rights and I know I’ve said in the past that books focusing more on politics have bored me, well basically anything similar to A Game of Thrones is something I’ll read AND if it’s a cultural inspired fantasy that also gets an automatic add 🙂

collection-of-decorative-page-dividers_1048-3026

Soon to be released

A River of Royal Blood (A River of Royal Blood, #1)

 

An enthralling debut perfect for fans of Children of Blood and Bone set in a North African-inspired fantasy world where two sisters must fight to the death to win the crown. 

Sixteen-year-old Eva is a princess, born with the magick of marrow and blood–a dark and terrible magick that hasn’t been seen for generations in the vibrant but fractured country of Myre. Its last known practitioner was Queen Raina, who toppled the native khimaer royalty and massacred thousands, including her own sister, eight generations ago, thus beginning the Rival Heir tradition. Living in Raina’s long and dark shadow, Eva must now face her older sister, Isa, in a battle to the death if she hopes to ascend to the Ivory Throne–because in the Queendom of Myre only the strongest, most ruthless rulers survive.

When Eva is attacked by an assassin just weeks before the battle with her sister, she discovers there is more to the attempt on her life than meets the eye–and it isn’t just her sister who wants to see her dead. As tensions escalate, Eva is forced to turn to a fey instructor of mythic proportions and a mysterious and handsome khimaer prince for help in growing her magick into something to fear. Because despite the love she still has for her sister, Eva will have to choose: Isa’s death or her own.

A River of Royal Blood is an enthralling debut set in a lush North African inspired fantasy world that subtly but powerfully challenges our notions of power, history, and identity.

Add this book on Goodreads


In my opinion this is such an awful over for such an awesome sounding book :/ I am still overly excited for this though and this will not be the last time I mention A River of Royal Blood 😀 I’m not sure I can remember if I’ve come across sibling rivalry very often in the books I read and I know if it’s not done right it just feels boring and a bit like a trope, but as many of those who know me have probably guessed it’s the magic and culture of this world I’m most looking forward to, I mean sure every book has to have a good plot and good characters but for me the unique magic plays a big part in the enjoyment of a book! These diverse fantasies had better keep coming, I’m serious 😉

picture GIF

2 thoughts on “Diversity Spotlight Thursday (29/8/19)

  1. Pingback: The Sunday Post & Stacking the Shelves (31/8/19) | Scaredy Engines End of Line Library

  2. Pingback: Favorite Posts 010 – Sometimes Leelynn Reads

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s