Can’t Wait Wednesday|Tiger Queen

Can’t Wait Wednesday/Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Wishful Endings and before it was hosted at Breaking the Spine. It was made to showcase future releases we’re excited for.

Tiger Queen by Annie Sullivan

Tiger Queen

Expected publication: September 10th 2019

From Annie Sullivan, author of A Touch of Gold, comes Tiger Queen, a sweeping YA fantasy adventure that tells the story of a fierce desert princess battling to save her kingdom. Fans of Rebel of the Sands and Meagan Spooner will devour this retelling of Frank Stockton’s famous short story, “The Lady, or the Tiger?”

In the mythical desert kingdom of Achra, an ancient law forces sixteen-year-old Princess Kateri to fight in the arena to prove her right to rule. For Kateri, winning also means fulfilling a promise to her late mother that she would protect her people, who are struggling through windstorms and drought. The situation is worsened by the gang of Desert Boys that frequently raids the city wells, forcing the king to ration what little water is left. The punishment for stealing water is a choice between two doors: behind one lies freedom, and behind the other is a tiger.

But when Kateri’s final opponent is announced, she knows she cannot win. In desperation, she turns to the desert and the one person she never thought she’d side with. What Kateri discovers twists her world—and her heart—upside down. Her future is now behind two doors—only she’s not sure which holds the key to keeping her kingdom and which releases the tiger.

Add to Goodreads

collection-of-decorative-page-dividers_1048-3026

Thoughts

Love, love, LOVE the sound of this!

happy cheering GIF by bluesbear

The description and reviews I have read for this book basically tick all the right boxes in what I look for in fantasy from an exotic setting to a unique magic, all this is what makes me the most excited for a new fantasy book! What is really calling out to me here though is the description of a desert kingdom and the enemies that may not be as they first seem and I hope all this will be fully brought to life as this appears to be a standalone novel but one with a lot of depth and scope. I’m not really sure what the authors inspirations are behind this world and story but other reviewers have been recommending this to fans of Asian inspired fantasies which I will always love, though I am now really curious to what inspires this world and characters…  At the moment it doesn’t look like I can get an ARC of this and I have found out that this authors books are quite expensive to buy on kindle where I am BUT they do appear to be coming out in physical format too so perhaps I could ask my library to get them in even though I really fancied owning a copy myself and my mum has put my Amazon account in lockdown when it comes to physical items, long story 😛 I will read this book one day, no matter how I come to acquire it though I do wonder why some books even on kindle are so expensive…

6 thoughts on “Can’t Wait Wednesday|Tiger Queen

  1. I hope you are able to get your hands on a copy. This does sound wonderful! I want to read it now too! And I just love that cover. I’ve always had a thing for tigers. I hope you have a great week!

    Like

  2. Pingback: The Sunday Post & Stacking the Shelves (31/8/19) | Scaredy Engines End of Line Library

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s