The Friday 56 & Friday Book Beginnings #51

The Friday 56 is hosted by Freda’s Voice and asks you to turn to page 56 (or 56% in your e reader) of your book (any book) and share a sentence or two that doesn’t have spoilers.

Book Beginnings is hosted by Rose City Reader and is about sharing the first sentence or so of the book you’re currently reading.

The Trap by Andrew Fukuda

The Trap (The Hunt, #3)

From author Andrew Fukuda comes The Trap, the explosive finale to The Hunt trilogy—perfect for fans of The Hunger Games!

After barely escaping the Mission alive, Gene and Sissy face an impossible task: staying alive long enough to stop an entire world bent on their destruction. Bound on a train heading into the unknown with the surviving Mission girls, Gene, Sissy, David, and Epap must stick together and use everything they have to protect each other and their only hope: the cure that will turn the blood-thirsty creatures around them into humans again. Now that they know how to reverse the virus, Gene and Sissy have one final chance to save those they love and create a better life for themselves. But as they struggle to get there, Gene’s mission sets him on a crash course with Ashley June, his first love . . . and his deadliest enemy.

Add to Goodreads

collection-of-decorative-page-dividers_1048-3026

Book beginning

The train arrives in the dead of day. The sun, perched high in the sky, scorches the desert a blinding white. Only the black filament of the train’s moving shadow taints this baked wasteland.

 

Page 56

I frown. Sissy,s right: my father’s disappearance defies logic. And it makes his subsequent disappearance from the mission-so shortly before we were supposed to arrive- all the more inexplicable.

 

Thoughts

Just yesterday I finished the second book in this series and promptly moved on to the third with the need to keep up with my new years resolution and get as many series finished as possible. There is a lot of suspense and mystery in these books which make them riveting reads and so far I think I’m enjoying this last book the most. There aren’t many pages in this book and there is a lot of ground to cover in terms of the characters and what will become of their world and I was very pleased the previous book did a little delving into the background of this world and how it became the way it is. I’m hoping the book will keep up with a nice fast pace until the end as this is a grim story and world that for me is easy to get lost in. I will also add here that I have really enjoyed this apocalyptic take on vampires and I think the author has it all really well thought out and I really think it is nice to step out of the norm with any type of fiction especially vampires because they are so overdone 😛 So far this is a much recommended series!

the black keys GIF

2 thoughts on “The Friday 56 & Friday Book Beginnings #51

  1. Pingback: The Sunday Post & Stacking the Shelves (27/7/19) | Scaredy Engines End of Line Library

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s