The Murder Complex – Lindsay Cummings

The Murder Complex (The Murder Complex, #1)

5_Star_Rating_System_2_stars_T

Author: Lindsay Cummings
Release Date: June 10th 2014
Genres: Young Adult, Science fiction, Dystopia
Series: The Murder Complex #1
Pages: 398
Pacing: Fast

Description

An action-packed, blood-soaked, futuristic debut thriller set in a world where the murder rate is higher than the birthrate. For fans of Moira Young’s Dust Lands series, La Femme Nikita, and the movie Hanna.

Meadow Woodson, a fifteen-year-old girl who has been trained by her father to fight, to kill, and to survive in any situation, lives with her family on a houseboat in Florida. The state is controlled by The Murder Complex, an organization that tracks the population with precision.

The plot starts to thicken when Meadow meets Zephyr James, who is—although he doesn’t know it—one of the MC’s programmed assassins. Is their meeting a coincidence? Destiny? Or part of a terrifying strategy? And will Zephyr keep Meadow from discovering the haunting truth about her family?

Add to Goodreads

collection-of-decorative-page-dividers_1048-3026

This was a rather disappointing read where I was expecting more in terms of darkness and character development but didn’t get it. I have been almost desperate to read this series from the moment I first saw it on Goodreads and when I saw it was available in my library I was quick to get it out hoping for a harrowing character driven thrill ride. It did have elements for that, but was mostly repetitive and lacking in many qualities.

The best thing that came to mind when I’d finished this book was..

Image source

Those who have read this book will understand why I’ll say the term overkill was made for this book, literally, there was so much blood, death and violence in this book which normally would have had me at the edge of my seat in anticipation. However, in this story it was done so many times that it became very repetitive and boring towards the end and lost a lot of its edge. It felt like this book was basically a repeat of the same type of action scene where the MC’s kill off their enemies with ease and even kill randomly in some cases. It also felt like the author was trying too hard in some places to make this plot really dark and disturbing with a lot of blood and action, but once again this was overly done and ended up not having that effect at all instead making the characters feel average.

That leads me on to the characters, they felt completely two-dimensional, like cutouts without any real personalities or qualities with which to like them. The romance also seemed to be very insta-love which really put things out of place as this is a world where no one trusts anyone and violence is rife so when these two characters were practically on top of each other after just one meeting, it seems just a little bit hard to believe don’t you think?

For the most part I liked the pacing which was fast with short chapters from each MC but sometimes this only added to the repetition of the plot which included the main characters running into trouble then easily fighting and killing their way out of it which made everything they did feel too easy and rushed. I think this book would have been made more enjoyable if there was more attention to detail instead of always trying to make this an adrenaline fuelled rush which is better than it being boring I suppose but left it feeling average in the end. The parts where the revelations on Meadow’s family were revealed were quite good and I liked how things about the system and her family history were unravelled. I will be reading the next book at some point because I am curious about the this world and how the characters will solve everything, if my library gets in the next book I’ll certainly read it because this one did end with a cliffhanger of sorts.

 

Who I’d recommend this for:

Those who rally like lots of blood and death in their books I guess, but don’t expect something particularly disturbing as like I said it feels like there was too much effort made to make this dark which left it for me feeling just like any other dystopia. That’s my opinion so others might like it!

 

One thought on “The Murder Complex – Lindsay Cummings

  1. Pingback: The Sunday Post #71 Stacking the Shelves #73 | Scaredy Engines End of Line Library

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s