The Friday 56 & Friday Book Beginnings # 42

The Friday 56 is hosted by Freda’s Voice and asks you to turn to page 56 (or 56% in your e reader) of your book (any book) and share a sentence or two that doesn’t have spoilers.

Book Beginnings is hosted by Rose City Reader and is about sharing the first sentence or so of the book you’re currently reading.

The Murder Complex by Lindsay Cummings 

The Murder Complex (The Murder Complex, #1)

An action-packed, blood-soaked, futuristic debut thriller set in a world where the murder rate is higher than the birthrate. For fans of Moira Young’s Dust Lands series, La Femme Nikita, and the movie Hanna.

Meadow Woodson, a fifteen-year-old girl who has been trained by her father to fight, to kill, and to survive in any situation, lives with her family on a houseboat in Florida. The state is controlled by The Murder Complex, an organization that tracks the population with precision.

The plot starts to thicken when Meadow meets Zephyr James, who is—although he doesn’t know it—one of the MC’s programmed assassins. Is their meeting a coincidence? Destiny? Or part of a terrifying strategy? And will Zephyr keep Meadow from discovering the haunting truth about her family?

Action-packed, blood-soaked, and chilling, this is a dark and compelling debut novel by Lindsay Cummings.

Add to Goodreads

collection-of-decorative-page-dividers_1048-3026

Book beginning

It is the key to survival, the key to life. My father’s old dagger.

“Peri” I call out over the waves to my little sister. An old can bobs up and down in the water, mesmerizing me for a moment. Beyond the Shallows, the sea is packed with boats. Some of them are still afloat, with their masts stretching like arms to the sky.

 

Page 56

Sometimes, we even get to go to the marketplace and buy extra clothing, a box of matches, a bundle of dried meat. But those things cost far too many Creds, and we don’t indulge ourselves often.

Koi has spent the day guarding the boat, and more importantly, guarding Peri.

 

Thoughts

I’m seriously behind with my reading and can’t seem to get myself into a good rhythm which I think is because of my upcoming exam on Monday in Microsoft packages. I’ve been worried shitless since I heard a resit costs money and there are at least four more other exams coming up too… Anyway, I won’t dwell here, I’ll say I only just started this book and it seems to be promising especially with the description of it being a “bloody” thrill ride by both the publisher and other reviewers. I feel it has been a while since I read a proper YA dystopian thriller and as I’ve mentioned, I was totally addicted to them in my later teens and would read them at any convenience. I can definitely tell there is a lot of action on the way in this book because of the dark survival situation feel I’ve got from the first few chapters and I hope so too because I need to finish this book as quickly as possible because of the amount of times I’ve renewed it 😛 I try not to read too many reviews but there seem to be a lot of bad reviews for this too saying the writing and character development is poor but for me I can’t imagine this being a DNF as I tend to DNF because of boredom… I just hope it will live up to its description.

k-pop friday GIF by Cheezburger

6 thoughts on “The Friday 56 & Friday Book Beginnings # 42

  1. Pingback: The Sunday Post #69 Stacking the Shelves #71 | Scaredy Engines End of Line Library

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s